Baseball Card HOF, 1933-1969

Back in college, my roommate and I made wall displays we called “Boards” for our top baseball cards.Staring at and talking about these Boards never got old. And if we made it to a card convention with a little bit of cash, the goal was always to find a card that could go on the Board, i.e., be good enough to displace a previous Board dweller. When I moved into my new place this past Spring, I decided to revive my Board, using a 50-card dispay case made by Pennzoni.

Here are the cards currently on my “Top 50” Board, which features 50 of the greatest players to appear on baseball cards while active between 1933 and 1969. The Ruth card from 1952 is a stand-in until maybe someday I land a 1933 Goudey card of him. Some notes are below the card slideshow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Building a Board like this is a bit like operating a Hall of Fame. There are always some borderline players let in and some very, very good players left out. I’m curious to know who you think the best missing players (1933-1969) are, aside from Gehrig, DiMaggio, and a real Ruth

Leave a Reply

